Canora curlers find success at local bonspiel

The Canora Men’s Bonspiel was held at the Sylvia Fedoruk Centre from March 4 to 7. A total of 16 teams were entered representing Canora, Buchanan, Crystal Lake, Norquay and Preeceville.

In the A event final, the Brody Harrison of Canora and his rink came out on top over the John Zbitniff team, also of Canora. Member of the winning foursome were: Connor Bodnarek (skip), Burke Sebastian (third), Brody Harrison (second), Taber Ebert (lead) and Dallas Harrison (alternate).

article continues below

Team Zuravloff of Canora/Buchanan captured first place in the B event with a victory over the Don Probe rink of Canora. Members of team Zuravloff were: Kent Zuravloff (skip), Rob Zuravloff (third), Brandon Zuravloff (second) and Lane Zuravloff (lead).

In the C event, the foursome skipped by Terry Wilson won over the Merv Tomko rink from Crystal Lake. Wilson’s teammates were: Nolan Kondratoff (lead), Mike Kwas (second), and Aaron Herriges and Curtis Baillie, who shared time at the third position.

Other teams competing in the bonspiel were: Bob Kolodziejski, Len Bazarski, Kelly Beblow, Ron Hoehn, Zeno Gulka and Darcy Zielinski of Canora; Ken Newell and Jeremy Korpusik of Norquay, Sheldon Luciw of Preeceville and Terry Dennis of Crystal Lake.