Diverse set of candidates running in upcoming municipal election

The 2020 Saskatchewan Municipal Election to choose mayor and councillors in urban municipalities (cities, towns, villages) and to elect reeves and councillors representing odd-number divisions in rural municipalities, in addition to any necessary byelections, is coming up rapidly approaching on November 9. The initial nomination deadline was on October 7, and resulted in nominations for most of the positions around the region.

For the Town of Canora, Michael Davis and Michael Kwas will be running for mayor in the upcoming elections. Contesting the election for the six councillor positions will be: Emily De Sa, Candace June Doogan, Jacqueline Fetchuk, Brad Gabora (incumbent), Denise P. Leslie, Glen Leson, Brent Pelechaty (incumbent), Eric Sweeney (incumbent), Matthew Thompson, Kerry Trask (incumbent) and David Wasyliw.

article continues below

The advance poll will be held on October 31 at the town hall, with the November 9 poll scheduled for Rainbow Hall.

In the RM of Sliding Hills, Reeve Harvey Malanowich (incumbent) has been re-elected by acclamation. Incumbent Councillor Ron Rozema won by acclimation for Div. 1. For Div. 3 the election will pit Murray Mudrey (incumbent) versus challenger Rodney Semeschuk. Div. 5 will see Janet Ostafie (incumbent) up against challengers Sheldon Derkatch and Doug Lapitsky. Advance polls for Div. 3 and Div. 5 will be held on November 5 at the Mikado municipal office council chambers. The council chambers will also be the site of polls on November 9, election day.

For the RM of Invermay, the candidates for Reeve are Philip Shewchuk and Wayne Swiderski. That will be the only election contested, as incumbents Ken Kowalchuk (Div.1), Dale Minhinnick (Div.3) and Roger Genoway (Div.5) were all elected by acclamation. Polls will be held at the Invermay office, with the advance poll on October 24 and the election day poll on November 9.

The Village of Invermay current council is made up of: Mayor Mike Kaminski, Deputy Mayor Tracey Fey, and Councillors Tracey Peshko and Donna Folster (one seat is vacant). For 2020, all new council members were elected by acclamation, including Mayor David Wood and councillors Michael Kaminski, Tracey Fey, Tracey Peshko and Donna Folster.

For the Village of Rama, it looks like the only election will see Philip Shewchuk up against Steven Halifax for mayor. Donna Pasloski is in by acclamation for one council position. At the close of nominations on October 7 there were no nominations for the second seat on council. As a result, there is a call for further nominations and that nomination deadline day will be October 21.

The current council for the Village of Rama includes Mayor Darrell Dutchak, who is retiring after serving as mayor for 29 years. Philip Shewchuk is the Deputy Mayor, after serving on council from 2008 to 2019. Councillor Evan Matsalla had previously served as Deputy Mayor from 2008 to 2020, after starting as a councillor in 2007.

The advanced poll is tentatively scheduled for October 31 at the Rama Golden Jets Hall, with the election day poll set for the same location on November 9.

The RM of Keys was accepting nominations for Div. 1,3,5 and 6 (byelection), and Reeve. At the close of nominations, incumbents Mark Hofer (Div.1) and Lorne Gazdewich (Div.5) were elected by acclamation. Newcomer Bradley Hallick was acclaimed for Div. 6. In the race for reeve, incumbent Garth Bates is facing a challenge from Calvin Statchuk (previous Div.6 councillor). The election for Div. 3 will be a contest between incumbent Donald Kraynick and newcomer Ken Kalmakoff.

The advance poll will be held on October 31 at the Ukrainian Catholic Hall in Canora, also the site of one of the election day polls. The other poll on November 9 is set for the Norquay Community Centre.

There will be no elections in the RM of Clayton, as all positions were filled by acclamation. Dean Serdachny (Div.3) and Dwight Rubletz (Div.5) will retain their previous positions. Hal Griffith takes over the reeve position, after serving as reeve in a previous term. Current Reeve Duane Hicks will move to Div.1 Councillor.